Heartbreaking Scene in the Movie

This was one of my vivid memories from the movie, as I was shocked to see a man so isolated from society. Max was absolutely struggling while living in the basement and it was extremely touching to see him ask Liesel about the weather. It is absolutely devastating to witness a man going through so many struggles, yet he was able to appear optimistic and satisfied in front of Liesel.

This clip also represents a major theme from the novel, which is the importance of words and literacy. After reading this novel, I gained a tremendous amount of respect for the education that I am currently receiving. It was horrible to see the lack of resources that Liesel had access to. However, it was heartwarming to see Liesel overcome all the barriers in her journey to be able to read. When she explains the weather to Max, I see it as evidence of the education that Hans Hubermann is teaching her.

Leave a comment